Just dropping a note: The King’s Speech

The King’s Speech (2010) by Tom Hooper

Well, I watched The King’s Speech this week but don’t really feel like writing a whole long blog post. So I thought I just drop a note that I have watched it and that I thought it is a great movie, with excellent actors. It is also about male bonding, that is, about a friendship between King George VI (Colin Firth) and Lionel (Geoffrey Rush), his speech therapist.

Of course, we all know that Colin Firth won an Oscar for his role as King George VI, but everybody was very well cast. The best moment for me, though (if you consider that the stopping of one’s heart is a sign for having a good time), was when I realized that Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy were in the same room together. Cryptic enough? Well, Jennifer Ehle who played Elizabeth Bennett in the BBC-version of Pride and Prejudice (1995) played Geoffrey Rush’s wife and she and the king (and Colin Firth played Darcy in the same production, as you probably know) meet once briefly and I almost swallowed my tongue watching.

All in all, it is a good movie, very solid, but also not out of the ordinary. It is another film about a monarch who had some struggles and overcame them with the help of a friend, nothing we haven’t seen a gazillion of times already. Of course, I cherish every movie with Helena Bonham Carter (wasn’t it her cousin Crispin who played Bingley on the same version of Pride and Prejudice?) but I came out of the theater knowing that I would struggle to remember what I had watched the next day – and I did. The word “forgettable” comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

