Looking Backwards: Xena… again.

You may have noticed by now that a) I am a sentimental fool and b) I don’t care who knows it. Well, the mood struck me again and I am now watching Xena’s third season which is also – despite season six – my favorite. And I am once again finding out why that is…

And yes, The Debt is still my favorite two-parter. Strangely enough, I cannot feel quite as warmly towards the The DelivererGabrielle’s Hope-desaster. I mean, and I didn’t know before: these two episodes simply suck. It is no wonder I could not remember much of these while reminiscing – I do that quite a lot, sentimental fools do.

And next I watched The Debt and I was so enthralled and  so happy… This is excellent tv, people. Actually, it is the best. They don’t do that anymore, they are not that daring, that brutal, that chokingly honest. And I could be wrong but I think, The Debt is the first time Gabrielle drops the three magic words into Xena’s lap… ohhhh, that is so cute!

I think The Debt filled a certain gap even in the story of Xena and Gabrielle where Xena told a story to her friend, where Gabrielle felt she had to safe her friend. It was role-reversal and then there were the flashbacks of Xena being seduced by ultimate goodness (does anyone else read the flying scene as sex scene between Xena and Lao Ma?). The story moved me back then, it still does…

There were other highlights following The Debt but they seem to be in the same realm of sexy, and mischievious, and xenite pleasure. I mean, Gina Torres abs in The King of Assassins (whatever else you might think of the episode, having two Joxers and all… and tooooooo little Xena and Gabby once again delivered as hapless little blond – and she’s actually getting blonder as the season progresses, isn’t she?), for example. Man!

Okay, the picture has not the best resolution but I guess you still get my point. And then there was the chemistry between Cleo and Xena… oh, please ladies, get a room already (the flirting between Cleo and Auto was not quite as pleasant, you can be straight and subtle, folks…). Then came Warrior… Priestess… Tramp and having Lucy act her full scope of comedic talent was a sight, but, hell, I think Gabby had it for Leah. I mean, think about it: as gorgeous as Xena but, for a change, Gab can take care of her… well, she had her hands all over her in any case.

Okay, I think, I’ll stop now… it’s just, looking back, even with all the fanfiction I have read… these two are still there in the middle of my creativity, teasing, flashing smiles, gorgeous… yeah, I definitely stop now! And watch The Quill Is Mightier, so I might be back later and tell you about it.

Nice weekend, all!

Leave a Reply

