‘Cause she’s awesome – Robin Wright

Since I am doing what all bloggers do and visit my blogs about 20 times every day, I am not entirely happy with seeing the name [of that bad actor I was blogging about last] every time I do that. So, because there are bad (male, whatever that means) actors and because there are just awesome (female, whatever that means) actors, I am now opening a new category and it is about awesome actors.

Some people might wonder why I start with Robin Wright. I could have started with Nathalie Portman who just won an Oscar, or maybe Katharine Hepburn who is the most awesome person ever to walk infront of a camera but I start with Robin Wright. One of the reasons is that I just watched a trailer to her new movie The Conspirator. It looks great. Make sure you stop by imdb.com later and check it out if you haven’t already. Another is because I remember her when she looked like this:

This is a publicity shot for Santa Barbara where she played Kelly Capwell. I was obsessed with that show, not because of her (I might write a post on the significance of that show one day but this is not it) though.

I also think that she is underestimated as an actress, maybe because of her ex-husband’s fame. I mean it is not a rare occasion that a female actress is known because she married someone famous and after her divorce gets more famous than him (hello, Nicole Kidman). And with her it would be deservedly so.  I haven’t seen that many movies with her but everytime I saw her she impressed me. There is a raw quality about her that gets more intense as she is getting older (which in her case also means more beautiful… I think, she is stunning).

Even in Pippa Lee which has the drawback that it is about a woman who lived for her husband for twenty years, she draws a character out of a non-character. The skill she shows at her craft is amazing. Luckily, since I have not seen that many movies with her there are plenty out there that I can watch now.

Here we have an amazing actress that is greatly underestimated. I cannot wait to watch The Conspirator (also because I love that part of US-history, not necessarily the killing of Abe Lincoln but the time, the controversy, the sheer madness of it all) and that is in great part because of Robin Wright.

‘Cause she’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

