Whip It!

Whip It (2009) by Drew Barrymore

The original title may not have an exclamation mark, but I think it does deserve one. And not in the way it is used today by overenthusiastic text messaging adolescents where a sentence is put between an OMG and three exclamation marks (as in: OMG that’s awsome!!!) but in an understated Virginia-Woolf-kinda way.

Whip It hasn’t officially started showing in Germany. I saw it as a sneak preview. I was so desperate to watch a movie yesterday that I would have watched anything but the worst case scenario would have been “Due Date” which is bound to start here next week. I hoped for Machete but got Whip It instead – I was not disappointed, though. How could I have been?

The movie is great. The story may not be innovative (how many times have we watched a girl grow into an ass-kicking swan, now?… not that I’m complaining) but fun. Ellen Page is gorgeous, so was everybody else, and Drew Barrymore’s directorial debut is absolutely positively empowering. I loved it.

So did everybody else. I don’t think that many men would have chosen the movie had they had a chance. But there were actually more men than women in the theater and the room was already abuzz with the excitement, the expectation a screening like that would usually bring. The screen opened to a seen that all the men there dreaded: a beauty pageant… and even I was a little shocked at that. But the next shot showed a girl leaning over a sink dying her hair and I knew it was Whip It. A noiseless ‘yay’ formed on my lips and then I just enjoyed myself. Everybody did. As I said: empowering, fun, girls in short skirts… okay, I may not have mentioned that last one but it was definitely there.

The actresses involved showed skill on the track, they were tough, they were charming… and Pete, were they hot! There was also some serious lesbian subtext going on (especially between Rosa Sparks (Eve) and Eva Destruction (Ari Graynor) in the hot tub…).

And because you were especially good today (not that I would know) I give you… Zoe Bell’s bruise:

I hope you liked.

And… OMG this movie is F***ing awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

