Just dropping a note: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (2010) by Edgar Wright

I don’t know if you know days like this but there are days when I crave going to the movies – and there’s nothing on. And even I didn’t want to see ‘Salt’ again (yes, I have watched it and not written about it but I still have the perfect headline for a blog-post: ‘Salt – or was it Bond, ca. 1980’ – can you envision the post from that headline?) so I picked what Germans call ‘das geringste Übel’ – the minor evil (which is not a good translation at all). Well, the least likely to be a total disaster (other than the Heigl-movie) was Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. I had seen the trailer (which didn’t do it for me at all) and for me it was just another movie about a loser getting a hip girl – so unlikely.

Fortunately, the makers of Scott Pilgrim did not think it any more likely than me and left the trashy grphic novel look about it all which made it more surreal than real. And it is fun, too. At first, of course, you think, wtf but then the dorky character of Scott (Michael Cera) grows on you (much like he did in Juno where the idea of him impregnating Ellen Page is quite disturbing). And not just him. I must say that Kieran Culkin is by far my favorite Culkin and seeing him play gay is even better than watching his brother Macauley in Party Animals.

It was fun watching it, not especially deep or moving or whatever, just fun. It did not make me want to read the comic, and it did not make me want to write a paper about it, which is a good thing since I’ve got far too many papers planned that I will probably never write. It also did not make me want to write a long blog-post which you have probably already gathered since I am rambling.

Bottom line is: Good movie, watch!

Leave a Reply

