Inception

I don’t know about men in the US but in Germany they usually frown at you when you say that you like Leonardo DiCaprio. They seem to only remember him from “Titanic” while he was in some quite successful dick flicks as well. And he is a good actor, everybody who has watched The Basketball Diaries and/or This Boy’s Life knows that. Still, there is resentment on the men’s part. Is it because he is good-looking, or all his girlfriends are supermodels… okay, yeah, I can see it clearly now, it’s just envy.

And he is only one in a list of actors I like or found likable in this movie (a real surprise was Cillian Murphy because I remember him as pretty scary from the The Dark Knight but he’s actually quite beautiful.). Since I usually watch movies because of the female cast-members this was no different and it was because of Ellen Page. She makes this movie about mental thievery a good version of Ocean’s Eleven where women are not only there to distract the men from their jobs and keeps the myth of their heterosexuality alive. She is a serious player in this game, she’s the architect.

To discribe the plot is next to impossible and it is one of the few movies I wish had been in 3D – but maybe that would have been overkill and we would all just have had a stroke. Maybe it was because I was very tired myself but the movie seems like a dream to me (luckily I never fall asleep infront of a screen) and it was incredibly hard to get out of it when it ended. I was actually dizzy for the remainder of the evening. The effects were mindboggling but director Christopher Nolan also created a group of characters who really create the story. Add a very good cast and it is no wonder one is so mesmerized by it.

I am trying to convey the feeling I got from watching it not the plot, ’cause it is too confusing to retell. You should just watch it yourself if you haven’t yet.

On another note, Ellen Page’s wardrobe was criticized for being “a little boy[‘s]” by New York Magazine’s blog “Vulture“. Hmmm. The look works for me but then again, I’m easy. I just think it is sad that some people cannot look beyond the “asexual sidekick” quality of Ellen Page’s character and see her integral part within the plot. And why is a girl not dressing in high-heels and tight jeans recognized as a boy? They could have just said that they think she plays a lesbian instead of beating around the bush… But you can’t say that, can you? Why don’t we just label her “tomboy” and be done with it?

Okay, enough with the stereotypes…

Leave a Reply

